Eleventh annual sprint competition to be held

| 28 Sep 2011 | 02:17

    SUSSEX COUNTY-The Sussex County Arts & Heritage Council is currently hosting the Eleventh Annual Sprint Competition and Exhibition on the second floor of the Judicial Center at 43-37 High St., Newton. The show will continue through Nov. 16. The exhibition includes 83 photographs from area artists and is open to the general public. Admission is free. Hours are 8:30 a.m. n 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 5 n 7p.m. Tuesdays. From among the 83 entries, two will be selected to be printed on the covers of the 2005 Sprint directories. One will be on the Sparta-Lake Mohawk directory and the other on the county-wide directory. The winners will be announced later this month. Exhibiting Sussex County photographers are Walter S. Oliver and Robert Pipher of Branchville; Bill McCarthy of Franklin; Carol Zervas of Hopatcong; Leslie L. Phiefer of Lafayette; Don Dixon, Nick Grisi, Sandi Hughes, Ann Marie Sciascia, and Vaun Kefring of Newton; Alicia Carew, John Carew, Donald Gerberg, Jack Hornstra, Natalie Takacs, Jose Ramirez and Peg Luomanen of Sparta; Carl B. Hoffman of Stockholm; Alison Renee Biamonte, Rebecca M. Biamonte, Agnes Rizzo and Jeffrey W. Smith of Wantage. All prints are for sale with a 25-percent commission going towards the work of the Council. A closing reception to honor the artists will be held from 5-7 p.m. on Nov. 16 from. Light refreshments will be served. Call the Council at 973-383-0027, or e-mail arts-heritage@mercurylink.net.